Building the health and safety leaders of tomorrow


Sixteen future safety leaders have been selected as recipients of this year’s Site Safe scholarships

Two of last year’s scholarship winners, Kellie Bullock and Reem Barakat, celebrate their success

The recipients, including five Maori and Pasifika candidates, and five Women in Construction candidates, will now embark on the journey to complete Site Safe’s most advanced health and safety qualification, the New Zealand Certificate in Workplace Health and Safety Practice (Level 3).

Site Safe Chief Executive Brett Murray says it was “exciting” to be able to provide the recipients with this unique opportunity to develop their health and safety knowledge.

“Investing in people is something we really believe in at Site Safe,” he insists.

“These scholarships will give sixteen people the chance to expand their learning and gain an NZQA-recognised national certificate.

“These are real-life skills which will not only extend their individual career opportunities but enrich the industry as a whole.”

The calibre of applicants was very high this year, Murray notes.

“The applicants were all really strong and well supported by their employers.

“It’s great to see the industry backing their people and recognising the value of health and safety training.”

Dominion Constructors’ South Island Construction Director, Grant Thomas, says the company was proud to be Site Safe’s scholarship partner.

“Professional development and health and safety are two things that are really important to us at Dominion, so it’s great to be able to help support this initiative, which allows people not only to build their skills, but to pass on that vital health and safety knowledge to their workplaces.”

All scholarship recipients receive complimentary training towards the Health and Safety in Construction programme which leads to the award of the NZ Certificate in Workplace Health and Safety Practice Level 3, a dedicated Site Safe mentor to support them in their studies, and a complimentary ticket to Site Safe’s annual gala event upon graduation.

Scholarship recipients for 2018:

Michael Sedden Maori Maiden Construction Ltd
Jessica Drummond Maori Miyamoto Internation NZ Ltd
Jason Dunn Maori BCD Civil Carpentry
Linsey Whitchurch-Kopa Open Rilean Construction Ltd
Allan Buckingham Open Cube Contracting
Rebecca Moss Open Clyne & Bennie Ltd
David (Veli) Lolohea Pasifika Commercial Concrete Placing Ltd
Heamasi Vaioleti Pasifika Sole Trader
Aimee Muir Under 25s Catalyst Consulting Ltd
Anna Winter Under 25s Individual
Maria Plopa Under 25s Aspec Construction
Bridgette Broad Women in Construction Cooney Construction Ltd
Andrea Martin Women in Construction Faulkner Construction
Vanessa Lalich Women in Construction Kelvin Lalich Builders Ltd
Bronwyn McNulty Women in Construction Constructa Ltd
Amanda Mariani Women in Construction Global Linings Ltd